news image

India captain Virat Kohli will receive the BCCI’s Polly Umrigar award – honouring the ideal world cricketer – for the fifth time in his profession following his consistent performance at some level of the last two seasons.

Also, for the first time ever, the BCCI will recognise the head ladies gamers of the year, at their awards feature on June 12 in Bengaluru. Harmanpreet Kaur wins it for 2016-17 and Smriti Mandhana for 2017-18.

The present No.1 ODI batsman on the planet, Kohli has been in phenomenal accept as true with for the past three years, collecting 2757 runs at a median of ninety one.ninety. He additionally grew to change into the first batsman to fetch four double-centuries in consecutive Take a look at series at some level of this period. The 29-year feeble went past 5000 runs alongside with his 20th Take a look at ton at some level of the series in opposition to Sri Lanka in December 2017. Under Kohli in the last three years, India equalled Australia’s picture of nine consecutive series wins in Tests. They are additionally ranked No. 1 in Take a look at cricket.

Harmanpreet has been equally prolific in ladies’s cricket. She performed fundamental roles in India’s campaigns at the ladies’s World T20 in 2016 and the Asia Cup hang in 2017, however her crowning success stays the unbeaten 171 she made in opposition to Australia in the World Cup semi-last. It was once the 2d-top fetch by an Indian in ladies’s ODIs and it helped her ruin into the head-10 ODI rankings for batsmen.

Mandhana started the 2017 World Cup with a ninety in opposition to England and then struck her 2d ODI hundred in the series in opposition to West Indies. In March 2018, she scored the quickest fifty for India in a T20I, off most productive 30 balls. She was once additionally named the Participant of the Sequence when India hostedEngland in April.

Be taught More